ICC World Cup 2023 Qualifier Team List: An In-depth Analysis

author - Shubhamoy Majumder

Explore the ICC World Cup 2023 qualifier team list and detailed history of the ICC World Cup. Get updates on the teams competing in the qualifiers and key information about the player squads. Follow this comprehensive guide for the latest updates on World Cup 2023 qualifiers.

icc world cup moments

ICC World Cup 2023 Qualifier Team List

The ICC World Cup 2023 is eagerly anticipated by the cricketing community. The best cricketing nations get together for this prestigious event to battle for the coveted crown. This article will examine the ICC World Cup's history and provide a comprehensive list of the teams competing in the World Cup 2023 qualifying matches.

A Brief Look at the ICC World Cup History

Annually since 1975, when England played host to eight nations, the ICC World Cup has been staged. The West Indies beat Australia in the inaugural World Cup final. The next two tournaments were held in England, and West Indies and India respectively took first and second place.

The 1987 World Cup was held in India and Pakistan for the first time outside of England. The 1992 event was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, while the 1996 edition was co-hosted by India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

The World Cup was jointly hosted by England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and the Netherlands in 1999. The 2003 World Cup, which South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya jointly hosted for the first time in Africa, followed this. Before the tournament returned to Asia in 2011, co-hosted by India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka, the Caribbean countries had the chance to host.

Most recently, the World Cup was jointly held by Australia and New Zealand in 2019. With five World Cup victories, Australia is the most dominant team in history. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England follow with one championship apiece, followed by West Indies and India with two titles each.

ICC World Cup 2023: The Team Lineup

The ICC World Cup 2023 will have a similar structure to the 2019 tournament, with a total of 10 teams. Each of these teams will play every other team once during a round-robin stage. The winner receives two points for victories, while each team receives one point for a tie. The top four teams advance to the semifinals after the round-robin phase.

The Super League 2020–23 served as the primary avenue for qualification for the World Cup 2023, with the top seven teams, including the hosts India, winning their seats. For the last two berths in the main tournament, the top two teams from the 2023 World Cup Qualifier Playoff, the top three teams from the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2, and the remaining five Super League clubs will play. In the months of June and July, Zimbabwe will host this qualifier.

To date, the following teams have qualified for the World Cup:

  • India
  • England
  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh

The following teams are competing in the Qualifiers for the remaining two spots:

  • Ireland
  • Netherlands
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies
  • Zimbabwe
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Scotland
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States

A Glimpse into the ICC World Cup 2023 Qualifier Squads

Sri Lanka and the West Indies will compete for a spot in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup in India. Both teams are prominent and will be participating in the Qualifier.

In the Qualifiers, the ten teams have been divided into two groups, with each team playing four group games. The top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Six phase, with the exception of points earned against the bottom two teams in their respective group. In the Super Six stage, the qualifying teams will encounter the other three qualifying teams from the other group. At the conclusion of the Super Six stage, the top two teams will qualify for the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup.

Now, let's examine the squads of the teams participating in the qualifiers in greater detail:

check out our in depth article about ICC World Cup Tickets


Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, Graham Hume, Josh Little, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, PJ Moor, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, and Craig Young make up the starting lineup for Andrew Balbirnie (captain).


Max O'Dowd, Logan van Beek, Vikram Singh, Aryan Dutt, Viv Kingma, Bas de Leede, Noah Croes, Ryan Klein, Teja Nidamanuru, Wesley Barresi, Shariz Ahmad, Clayton Floyd, Michael Levitt, Saqib Zulfiqar are the members of the team.


Jatinder Singh, Kashyap Prajapati, Shoaib Khan, Mohammed Nadeem, Sandeep Goud, Ayaan Khan, Suraj Kumar, Adeel Shafique, Naseem Khushi, Bilal Khan, Kaleemullah, Fayyaz Butt, Jay Odedra, Samay Shrivastav, and Rafiullah are some of the other players.

check out our in depth article about India vs Pakistan world cup tickets


Matthew Cross (captain), Alasdair Evans, Chris Greaves, Jack Jarvis, Michael Leask, Tom Mackintosh, Chris McBride, Brandon McMullen, George Munsey, Adrian Neill, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Hamza Tahir, and Mark Watt.


Steven Taylor, Ali Khan, Sai Teja Mukkamalla, Saurabh Netravalkar, Nisarg Patel, Gajanand Singh, Kyle Phillip, Jasdeep Singh, Nosthush Kenjige, Usman Rafiq, Abhishek Paradkar, Shayan Jahangir, and Sushant Modani are among the players that have Monank Patel as their captain.

West Indies

Rovman Powell (vc), Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Guakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, and Romario Shepherd.

Nepal, Sri Lanka, UAE, and Zimbabwe have yet to announce their respective squads.

check out our in depth article about ICC World Cup 2023 Venues

Final Thoughts

All eyes are on the qualifications with the ICC World Cup 2023 just around the corner. The two teams who will join the top eight in the main event are eagerly anticipated by fans all across the world. Cricket fans can anticipate intense competition as the teams prepare for the qualifications, displaying the greatest cricketing talent from across the world.

The qualifiers are a tournament in and of itself, with each nation striving for a chance at cricketing glory, rather than merely serving as a warm-up for the World Cup. The ICC World Cup 2023 qualifiers are expected to be an exciting spectacle with standout performances and suspenseful outcomes as we watch the event develop. Prepare yourself for some thrilling cricket action!

Disclaimer: The material in this page is current as of June 2023, but it is subject to change as new announcements are made by the ICC and various cricket bodies.

Related Articles